>Tips on Starting a Woodworking Blog

>

I am constantly amazed by the number of woodworking blogs out on the web. A quick search around or flipping through the woodworking tags on a site like Stumbleupon reveals more reading material than you can possibly digest. As a matter of fact if you were to try and read all of the blogs on woodworking then…well you wouldn’t have time to woodwork!

So, why are there so many blogs out there and more being started every day? And why would you start a woodworking blog if it is difficult to get a large following and almost impossible to ever make money at it? Well, first of all if you go into this hoping to become famous or rich, you may want to try something else like say…playing the lottery? Most blogs including mine were started because we love what we do and want to share it with others. You have to be passionate about what you are doing and want to write about it even if no one reads it.

When I first started Highrockwoodworking I was disappointed that I did not automatically have readers, but at the same time I was not participating in other blogs and forums. The blogging community is just that a community. We learn from one another and hope that a few others will stop by and either learn something or give us a few tips of their own.

I will be the first to tell you my site does not generate thousands of people a day but I have a steady group that reads my site and I really appreciate those who do take their time to stop by and read what I have to say. I also have many woodworking blogs I follow and admire.

• Write about what you are passionate about.

• Continue to write even if no one reads it, that will come sooner or later.

• Be yourself and don’t take yourself too seriously.

• Be involved with the community you are writing about, you have a chance to make some great friends.

• Be patient.

• Get involved with Twitter and not just to advertise your blog post.

• START WRITING!

As always, thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment on your thoughts or sudgestions.

Chris

3 Comments

Filed under Woodworking Article

3 responses to “>Tips on Starting a Woodworking Blog

  1. >Good points, Chris. It's about the community & the passion.

  2. >That is exactly what I was getting at Dyami. I really believe that in the end if we are all helping each other out and doing what we love then that is all that matters.

  3. >Interesting! Good points, Chris. It's about the community & the passion..Thanks for sharing..

Leave a Reply

