>Lie Nielsen Shoulder Plane

>

Some tools are just hard to write a review about because there is just not much you can say negatively about them, that is the way it is with the Lie Nielsen Shoulder Plane.  Many might think that a shoulder plane in not a necessity in the shop but I have to say I use mine all the time.

The most common use for myself is trimming tenons.  With the blade set flush with the outside edge I can clean out right to the shoulder.  The plane also excels at cleaning out dados and rabbits.  I have even used my small shoulder plane which is 5/8″ to make a dado on a small board when I don’t want to get the dado blade out.  For a 3/4″ dado just use your table saw to cut the outside shoulders and clean out the middle with the shoulder plane.

Like any Lie Nielsen the plane is ready to use right out of the box.  I tried mine out as soon as I could hit the shop and with only minor adjustments had some great shavings.  After spending a few moments honing  I just couldn’t ask for better.

I highly recommend the Lie Nielsen Shoulder Plane.

Leave a comment

Filed under Tool Review

Leave a Reply

