>Stanley Sweetheart 9 1/2

>http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=highrockwood-20&o=1&p=8&l=bpl&asins=B002RLCEEU&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrI must say that when I first read about the Stanley’s Sweetheart line I was a bit apprehensive.  When thinking of a Stanley I normally think of what your everyday box store carries or an old plane I might find at a garage sale and not a high end woodworking tool. 

I needed a new block plane and thought why not try the Stanley Sweetheart 9 1/2.  Out of the box the plane has a nice weight to it, feels good in your hand, and looks great.  The thick A-2 iron cut better than I thought out of the box and cut really well after a little honing.

After reading a few other reviews most of the complaints I read about were of the inside housing being skewed.  After taking mine apart I did notice a little but not enough to cause the iron to not sit properly.  The biggest complaints that I have is in the lateral adjustment.  If I have the blade advanced to far forward I have to turn the lateral adjustment knob back two and a half times back to get the blade to withdraw and then another two and a half turns to get the blade to start advancing again, that is just way to much play.  The other complain I have is that although you can adjust the mouth very easily it does not adjust enough.  Trying the plane on a piece of slightly figured oak I kept getting tear out that I think would have been resolved if I could have closed the mouth up tighter to the blade.

All in all I am pretty happy with the plane and although I will not be replacing my other planes with the Sweetheart line anytime soon, I do see the plane getting used in my shop.

2 Comments

Filed under Tool Review

2 responses to “>Stanley Sweetheart 9 1/2

  1. >I have read other reviews about the sweetheart planes that weren't so good, and like yours that were pretty positive. I'm not sure if that is indicative of a difference in quality control over all the inspectors or extremely critical reviewers. I would like to hope it's the latter considering there are some people you just can't please. If I can buy a nice tool for a decent price that does the job it is supposed to do, then I am happy.

  2. >I usually read a lot of review before I purchase anything but ultimately I decide what I like based on the product itself. Althought the plane is not one of my Lie-Nielsens or Veritas, there are a number of things that I do like about it and am not just going to jump on the hater bandwagon because everyone else is. It's not perfect but it is decent. Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

